Forums

Suggest a New Forum Category

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Parental help or lack thereof
girlwithad-
ream

Dater

Send Message
Post Parental help or lack thereof
on: September 21, 2014, 2:59 AM

hey guys this is my first time posting
seems like this site is more by- not in a judging way just trying to feel it out.
i come from a modern orthodox home/community. yes my mom covers her hair and her knees elbows and collarbone. no my dad does not wear a black hat or white shirt black pants and he sometimes wears jeans. they are super careful thought about mitzvos and torah is so important to them and they give everything for their kids to be able to love torah and want to serve Hashem. Sometime in high school and then in Israel I became more yeshivish, my older sister also went down this path and is married and living in kollel with my parents blessing and support- both emotionally and financially. I have been in the shidduch scene for about a year i guess but have only gone out with two guys and have not had many messes. at first my parents were reluctant to let me date they thought i wasn't ready and was immature. they let me date about a year ago but any type i "misbehave" they hold not letting me date against me. also they don't really love the shidduch system- even though my sister went through this- and my mom uses that as an excuse when she doesn't make phone calls to shadchanim ro check out boys when i ask. i really want to get married and not having my parents support and help is really hard. also i don't get any messes from guys and its so frustrating.i met a couple shadchanim and want to meet more but need some names and numbers. thanks so much!!

just pray

Dater

Send Message
Post Re: Parental help or lack thereof
on: September 22, 2014, 8:46 PM