Forums

Suggest a New Forum Category

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Baalas teshuva - how do I explain...
life123

Dating Pro

Send Message
Post Baalas teshuva - how do I explain...
on: October 13, 2013, 2:09 PM

I just started learning with a very new baalas teshuva... and she went away for Shabbos, and came back with a shidduch for me 😮 ... she emailed me

I was thinking of him for you he is 21. Comes from a divorced home was raised by an amazing mother who went off the path but he brought himself back to it. Great middos and is studying OT right now. Bright blue eyes and dark hair very cute style and cute boy. Very very cute and very like affectionate I could tell. Very big giver.

So I emailed her back

I don't know if you've heard about the idea of kollel, but when I get married I'm looking to lead that kind of lifestyle, where I will support my husband in full time learning for at least the first years of marriage. It's not such an easy concept to grasp if you haven't heard about it for many years. I guess I could explain it by saying that a girl who marries a boy who wants to learn long term is supporting him while he earns a doctorate in talmudic studies... He comes into the marriage with the equivalent of a BA in Talmud, and then if they can make it work its like he gets a Masters degree by learning another 2 years, if they can manage financially for 5 years on one salary its like a phd, and after that its like the husband is studying for a post-doctorate... Except that the learning isn't done for letters after the name or prestige, but to become holier, know more Torah, and be closer to HaShem. That's my dream.

I figured it wasn't worth even mentioning that a 19 year old like myself isn't interested in a divorced boy, that this would be enough... then she emailed me back -